The danger of “The feel-good Gospel, How we use God for comfort by Greg Morse”

The way I have lived an unhappy and despondent life for years yet I am a born- again Christian.
How fear, skeptism, sarcasm and the subtle form of pride have encampass my life.
I had come to believe that God will bring me at a place of peace, comfort, help me gain self confidence and live a happy life.
Self help has always been my subtle motto.
I secretly told myself “If I stop being impatient, angry, skeptical, bored and inattentive to self I will find peace, love and courage.”
Little did I realize that God came to save sinners not to make them feel happy and comfortable in Self. He came that we may live in Him through His righteousness not SELF RIGHTEOUSNESS.

I mingled my personal goals with Heavenly ones, assuming God wants the same. Greg’s article stipulates the danger of the new gospel, as it seeks after happiness, comfort, and peace but giving little attention to the glory of God.
John Piper repeatedly declares “God is most glorified, when we are most satisfied in Him”.
Therefore, it means seeking God’s kingdom is the priority above all the other things we desire (Matt 6:33).

What that means is that we seek the face of God daily above the highest degree, highest paying job, the luxurious home and designer clothing. We seek for joy, peace, love, contentment, purity, gentleless and others only in God.

The New Age Gospel will only find it’s richness in setting God’s throne as the highest throne while denying self that same status. Self must die for Christ to live… In Him we move and have our being. Draw us to Your Holiness and Righteousness outside of our comfort Lord…

Leave a comment